# Borame-Amoud Bridge: What the 2019 Report Shows

> Somaliland Standard's 2019 report described the Borame-Amoud bridge as nearing completion. It did not record an opening, a cost or what happened next.

- By: Editorial Team, Somali Construction Review (https://somaliconstructionreview.com/about)
- Published: 30 September 2026
- Format: News story (reported from one named public source)
- Publication: Somali Construction Review (https://somaliconstructionreview.com)
- Subject: Infrastructure and Services
- Tags: roads, drainage
- Web version: https://somaliconstructionreview.com/blog/borame-amoud-bridge-2019-report

## Key points

- On 21 December 2019, Somaliland Standard reported a new bridge linking Borame town and Amoud University's main campus complex was nearing completion, per the transport ministry.
- The report does not establish that the bridge was officially opened, what it cost, who built it or what work has followed.

On 21 December 2019, Somaliland Standard reported that work on a bridge linking Borame town and the Amoud University main campus complex was nearing completion, attributing that status to the Ministry of Transport. The report described the bridge as not yet officially opened.

In that report, the Minister of Transport and Road Development, Mr. Abdillahi Abokor Osman, toured the construction site accompanied by Mr. Saleban Hadi, the mayor of Borame, to assess and evaluate the ongoing construction work. According to the minister, via Somaliland Standard, the construction of the bridge linking Amoud University and Borame town had been successfully undertaken and the construction work was near completion.

## What the report records

The chief engineer overseeing construction, via Somaliland Standard, said work started in December 2018 and that the plan was to complete the bridge in 22 months or two years, with most of it completed in one year. The same official claimed the bridge can carry up to 90 tonnes and last up to 70 years. Both are claimed design figures, not demonstrated performance.

Prof. Saleban Ahmed Guled, the chancellor of Amoud University, said at the site that water drainage at the sides and some small decorations still needed to be added, and that the project was awaiting official opening. He also said its technology and administration are co-owned by the Road Authority, the Ministry of Transport and Amoud University, a co-ownership claim made without a supporting document in the report. Funding was stated, without a named funding source or document, as paid for by the President of the Republic of Somaliland.

The minister described the bridge as the largest project undertaken in Awdal region, unquantified in the report. He said the Ministry of Transport and Road Development will construct a one-kilometer access road extending out of the bridge and into the bridge, and that the government would begin work on the long road connecting Borama and Lawya-Caddo in Selel region. Both were announced intentions, not evidence of a contract or a start, per the report.

## What the report does not establish

The report does not say who built the bridge: no contractor is named. It does not state the total project cost, the contract value, the funder amount or expenditure. The mayor's remark references "knowing the cost" but gives no figure. Bridge specifications such as length, span, type and number of lanes are not stated, only the claimed capacity and design life.

The report also does not establish what happened after 21 December 2019: whether the bridge was officially opened, and when. The extent of completion is not quantified beyond "most of it." There is no confirmation of the announced one-kilometer access road, or of the Borama-Lawya-Caddo road, by contract, funding or works start.

## Questions

### What is the project cost and funding source?

The 2019 Somaliland Standard report does not state a total project cost, contract value or funder amount. It says the bridge was paid for by the President of the Republic of Somaliland, stated without a named funding source or document.

### When will the bridge be fully completed?

The report does not give a completion date. The chief engineer overseeing construction said the plan was 22 months or two years from a December 2018 start, and the minister said the work was near completion. No later status is established in the report.

### How will the bridge improve connectivity in the region?

The report links the new bridge to Borame town and the Amoud University main campus complex, and records a ministry plan for a one-kilometer access road. It gives no traffic, capacity or economic figures.

## Sources

- [Work on bridge linking Borame and Amoud nears completion: Somaliland ministry of transport](https://somalilandstandard.com/work-on-bridge-linking-borame-and-amoud-nears-completion-somaliland-ministry-of-transport/) — Somaliland Standard, 2019-12-21
