In brief
- Mustaqbal Media reported on 31 January 2026 that Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed and Somali Regional State President Mustafa Mohamed Cagjar were set to jointly inaugurate a development project near Jigjiga.
- The report describes a large-scale investment initiative including tourism facilities, with the bulk of funding provided by Ethiopia's federal government according to regional officials.
- The report does not establish whether the inauguration took place, what has happened since, the project's cost, or whether construction had started or finished.
On 31 January 2026, Mustaqbal Media reported that Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed and the President of the Somali Regional State, Mustafa Mohamed Cagjar, were set to jointly inaugurate a major development project that day on the outskirts of Jigjiga, citing officials.
The project, Mustaqbal Media reported, is located in the Shabelle area outside the regional capital and is described as a large-scale investment initiative including tourism facilities and other sites open to both local and international investors.
According to regional officials cited by Mustaqbal Media, the bulk of the funding for the project was provided by Ethiopia's federal government. Authorities said the development is intended to stimulate economic activity, attract private investment, and create employment opportunities for residents of the Somali region.
The administration of President Mustafa Cagjar said the project is part of broader efforts to implement sustainable development initiatives that benefit local communities and position the region as an attractive destination for investment. The regional government has prioritized infrastructure, tourism, and economic projects as part of its strategy to boost growth and improve livelihoods.
Mustaqbal Media reported that several senior officials and invited guests were expected to attend the inauguration ceremony, though details regarding their identities, ranks, and countries of origin had not been officially disclosed. It added that further details were expected to emerge following the official launch ceremony.
What the report does not establish
The report does not name the project. It does not state a project cost, budget figure, currency or funding share, and it does not identify a contractor, consultant, developer or client. Whether the project is a government project, a public-private partnership or a private investment is not stated, and neither are its size, specifications or physical scope.
Whether the federal funding described as "the bulk" is committed, disbursed or spent is not stated. Whether any construction had started or was complete before the reported inauguration is not stated. Nor does the report establish whether the inauguration actually took place on 31 January 2026, or what has happened since that date.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Jigjiga development project reported on 31 January 2026?
Mustaqbal Media reported it as a large-scale investment initiative including tourism facilities and other sites open to local and international investors, located in the Shabelle area outside Jigjiga. The report does not name the project or state its cost, scope or contractor.
Who is funding it?
According to regional officials cited by Mustaqbal Media, the bulk of the funding was provided by Ethiopia's federal government. The report does not state a funding share or whether that funding is committed, disbursed or spent.
Did the inauguration take place?
Mustaqbal Media reported on 31 January 2026 that Abiy Ahmed and Mustafa Cagjar were set to jointly inaugurate the project that day. The report does not establish that the inauguration took place, and it does not state what has happened since.