In brief
- Somaliland Standard reported on 18 August 2018 that Berbera Port received three reach stackers, three telescopic cranes, empty container handlers and a tug boat named Egal.
- DP World Berbera claimed the equipment was part of an expansion to increase container vessel performance by 70 percent; no baseline was given.
- The report does not establish what has happened at Berbera Port since 18 August 2018.
On 18 August 2018, Somaliland Standard reported that the Port of Berbera had received new cargo-handling equipment. The report, datelined Dubai, United Arab Emirates, said the port took delivery of three reach stackers, adding to three that began operating last year according to the same report. It also described the addition of empty container handlers to maximise storage space for containers, three new telescopic cranes for livestock and general cargo shipping, and a new tug boat presented to the Somaliland Port Authority to moor larger vessels and increase accessibility. The tug was named Egal, in honour of Muhammed Haji Ibrahim Egal, president of Somaliland between 1993 and 2002, according to Somaliland Standard.
The report says the equipment was welcomed by Awale Ibrahim Shirwa, Minister of National Planning and Development; Mohamed Dahir Ahmed, Deputy Minister of Finance; Ahmed Osman Hassan, Governor of Sahiil region; and Abdishakur Mahamoud Hassan, Mayor of Berbera. It names Supachai Wattanaveerachai as CEO of DP World Berbera.
Somaliland Standard presented the delivery as part of DP World Berbera's expansion and attributed to DP World Berbera a claim that the equipment would increase container vessel performance by 70 percent. The report does not state a baseline or measurement period for that figure. It also attributes to DP World Berbera a statement that in September 2017 the port recorded its highest container volumes in its history, a 40 percent increase over September 2016, without an absolute TEU volume or independent verification.
Suhail Al Banna, DP World MEA Region CEO and Managing Director, was quoted by Somaliland Standard saying the Port of Berbera is an important gateway and that the equipment will help the efficient delivery of goods and increase cargo volumes supporting Somaliland's development as a major trade hub in the Horn of Africa.
The report also records that DP World Group Chairman and CEO Sultan Ahmed Bin Sulayem and Somaliland Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Dr. Saad Ali Shire signed the port's concession agreement in Dubai in May 2017. Somaliland Standard reported that the concession carries a phased investment of USD 442m. The report does not state how much of that sum had been spent or disbursed at the time of writing, nor a contract value, supplier or commissioning date for the individual equipment items.
A separate passage of DP World boilerplate, published by Somaliland Standard, described a portfolio of 78 operating marine and inland terminals supported by over 50 related businesses in over 40 countries, 70.1 million TEU handled across the portfolio in 2017, a current gross capacity of 88.2 million TEU expected to rise to more than 100 million TEU by 2020, and over 36,000 employees from 103 countries.
What the 18 August 2018 report does not establish is what has happened at Berbera Port since that date. No evidence in the report covers later deliveries, works, costs or operational results.
Frequently asked questions
What equipment did Berbera Port receive in August 2018?
Somaliland Standard reported on 18 August 2018 that the port received three reach stackers, empty container handlers, three telescopic cranes and a tug boat named Egal, in addition to three reach stackers that began operating last year according to the same report.
What is the expected impact on cargo handling?
DP World Berbera claimed the equipment was part of an expansion to increase container vessel performance by 70 percent, as reported by Somaliland Standard. The report gives no baseline or measurement period for that figure.
How much did the equipment cost?
The report does not state a cost, supplier or contract value for the equipment. It records a phased investment of USD 442m under the concession agreement signed in May 2017, without stating how much had been spent or disbursed.