In brief
- On 25 February 2014, Somaliland Sun reported a Facebook briefing by Minister of Presidency Hon. Hirsi Ali Haji Hassan on planning and funds for the Erigavo–Burao road.
- The minister stated funds came largely from public donations and partly from government coffers, with specific amounts claimed for various sources and accounts.
- The report does not establish any construction progress, contractor appointment, or further funding after the briefing date.
On 25 February 2014, Somaliland Sun reported from Hargeisa on a Facebook briefing by the Minister in the Office of the President, Hon. Hirsi Ali Haji Hassan, concerning the planning of the Erigavo–Burao road and the funds collected.
The briefing, as reported, outlined that the President had shown the need to construct the road and had formed a committee for the collection of funds. According to the minister, this committee had opened four accounts: at the central bank, Dahabshil, Salaam bank, and Zaad services.
The minister claimed that funds had largely been donated by members of the public and partly from government coffers. Specific amounts given in the briefing include: 4 million dollars from the government coffers; 672,774 dollars already deposited in the Central Bank of Somaliland from that government allocation; 790,133.94 dollars collected from the public in the four accounts; 100,000 dollars still in the hands of the Erigavo committee; 114,261 dollars collected by Somaliland students; 100,000 dollars expected from the Saudi Diaspora; and contributions from the Sheffield community (27,000 dollars) and Beesha Isaxaaq (100,000 dollars and 1,200 herds of goats and camels). The minister also stated that the President and Vice President personally contributed amounts described in the source as 6000 and 4000 dollars respectively, but the wording is ambiguous as it does not specify which figure belongs to whom. Additionally, he said every cabinet member is deducted 180 dollars per month, totaling 100,000 dollars, with monies extracted from all civil servants amounting to 2.5 million dollars. He also mentioned that two bulldozers, two asphalt mix plants, a paver and a crusher were awaited.
The report provides a snapshot of claimed funding and planning activity as of that date, but it does not establish what has happened since the briefing. No contractor, timeline, or engineering details are given, and there is no information on whether the road has progressed to construction or remains at the fundraising stage. The minister's statements are attributed to him as reported by Somaliland Sun; no independent verification is presented in the article.
Frequently asked questions
What funding sources were mentioned for the Erigavo–Burao road?
The minister's briefing, as reported by Somaliland Sun on 25 February 2014, cited government coffers (4 million dollars), public donations collected in four accounts (790,133.94 dollars), civil servant deductions (2.5 million dollars), cabinet contributions (100,000 dollars), student collections (114,261 dollars), and various diaspora donations, among others.
Has construction started on the Erigavo–Burao road?
The report from 25 February 2014 does not state that construction has started. It only describes planning and fundraising activities. No contractor or construction progress is mentioned beyond equipment that was awaited.