In brief
- Somaliland Standard reported on 2018-09-23 that the Minister in charge of Transport and Road Development, Hon. Abdilahi Abokor, officially opened the road linking Erigavo to Eil Afwein that day.
- The same report described the road as 86 km and "revamped", and said the repairing work was part of the 284 km Burao road.
- That single report does not establish a construction start date, a completion date, a contractor, a funder or any cost, and it provides no evidence of the road's condition or use after September 2018.
On 23 September 2018, Somaliland Standard reported that the Minister in charge of Transport and Road Development, Hon. Abdilahi Abokor, had officially opened the road linking Erigavo to Eil Afwein that day. SCR has no primary record of the event, so the opening stands as an announcement reported by that newspaper, not as an SCR-verified fact.
The same report described the road as 86 km and as having been "revamped". That figure and that description come from the newspaper alone. No basis for the 86 km length is stated, and what "revamped" means is undefined: the report does not say whether the works were full reconstruction, resealing, grading or spot repairs. Somaliland Standard also reported that the repairing of the Erigavo-Eil Afwein road is part of the 284 km Burao road. The report does not state what the 284 km figure measures, nor how the 86 km relates to it.
What the report does not establish
The report does not name a contractor, consultant, implementing agency or funding source. It does not state a contract value, project cost, budget, expenditure or payment, and it gives no construction start date, works duration or completion date. There is no specification, standard, lane configuration or surface type for the road.
Nor does it establish what has happened since. The report itself is the only document on the road's condition or use: no maintenance record, no statement on deterioration or washouts, no evidence of further works. The absence of later reporting is not evidence that the road remains open or in good condition.
The September 2018 announcement is on the record. The cost, the builder, the funder, the standard of work and the road's subsequent condition are not.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Erigavo-Eil Afwein road's length?
Somaliland Standard reported on 2018-09-23 that the road linking Erigavo to Eil Afwein is 86 km. The report gives no basis for the figure, and it is not corroborated by any other document in the record.
Who funded or built the Erigavo-Eil Afwein road?
The 2018-09-23 report does not name a contractor, consultant, implementing agency or funding source, and it states no contract value, project cost or budget.
What has happened to the road since the 2018 announcement?
The record contains no evidence of the road's condition or use after September 2018. The report does not establish what happened after the announcement, and the absence of later reporting does not show the road remains open or in good condition.