In brief
- On 2 August 2020, Somaliland Sun reported that Finn Church Aid had published a notice inviting companies to tender for prequalification as suppliers of goods, works and services for the period 2020/2022.
- The notice does not state a contract value, budget, deadline, contact details or the sub-categories of goods, works and services sought.
- The source does not establish whether any suppliers were prequalified, selected or contracted after 2 August 2020.
On 2 August 2020, Somaliland Sun reported that Finn Church Aid (FCA) had invited reputable companies to tender for prequalification as suppliers of goods, works and services for the period 2020/2022, wording the report attributes to FCA. The notice is a call for applicants, not a contract, an award or a project approval.
What the notice says
According to the FCA notice as published by Somaliland Sun, the prequalification covers "GOODS, WORKS & SERVICES 2020/2022." FCA states it invites reputable companies for prequalification, selecting those "most competent and qualified that meet FCA Minimum policies." The wording does not define what those minimum policies require.
FCA's own description, reproduced in the same notice, sets out three thematic areas it considers central to sustainable change: the right to peace (R2P), livelihood (R2L) and quality education (R2QE). FCA states it realises its mission through development cooperation, humanitarian assistance and advocacy work, according to the notice as reported by Somaliland Sun.
According to the same notice, FCA has worked in Somaliland and Somalia under a right to peace thematic area since 2008, including governance and reconciliation projects, and later expanded into the quality education thematic area. The notice does not date that expansion.
FCA also describes itself, in text carried by Somaliland Sun on 2 August 2020, as a Finnish organisation with 70 years of experience, operating in 15 countries, and as Finland's largest NGO in development cooperation and second largest provider of disaster relief. Those are FCA's own characterisations as reproduced by Somaliland Sun; the rankings are not independently verified in the report.
What the notice does not establish
The reproduced text does not list the sub-categories of goods, works and services open to applicants, does not give a submission deadline, application fee or contact details, and does not state a contract value, budget or projected spend. It gives no number, size or value of contracts expected to be awarded. The 2020/2022 period is the notice's own wording; the notice does not fix exact calendar start or end dates.
Somaliland Sun listed the item under its Job Opportunities category. The report does not name an FCA or Somaliland Sun individual responsible for the notice.
What happens after 2 August 2020
The source does not establish what followed that date. Whether FCA prequalified any suppliers, awarded work under the 2020/2022 period, or carried out any goods, works or services from it is not documented in the report. On the evidence of the 2 August 2020 report, the notice records an invitation and its stated terms, and no outcome.
Frequently asked questions
What did FCA's 2020/2022 notice cover?
According to the FCA notice as reported by Somaliland Sun on 2 August 2020, it invited reputable companies to tender for prequalification as suppliers of goods, works and services for the period 2020/2022, based on the notice's own wording.
What qualifications or deadlines did the notice set?
The notice states applicants must meet FCA Minimum policies. The text as reproduced does not define those minimum policies, does not list the sub-categories of goods, works and services, and does not give a submission deadline, application fee or contact details.
Does the report show which companies were prequalified?
No. The source does not establish whether any suppliers were prequalified, selected or contracted, or whether any goods, works or services followed.