In brief
- On 21 July 2015, Goobjoog News reported that Galmudug President Abdikarim Hussein Guled contributed $50,000 in cash to the Galkaio-Hobyo road project.
- The president described the contribution as personal because his new administration had no income or budget, but in the same report he was quoted saying the administration was contributing the money.
- The report does not establish that the money was paid, received, spent, or that the road project progressed after that date.
On 21 July 2015, Goobjoog News reported that Abdikarim Hussein Guled, president of Galmudug, contributed $50,000 US dollars in cash to the Galkaio-Hobyo road project. The report describes Hobyo as the designated port city for the Galmudug administration and Galkaio as the main town of Galmudug. The two towns are some 260km apart.
Contribution framed two ways
Goobjoog News reported that the president said he made a personal contribution because his new administration did not yet have income or budget, and he thanked the committee tasked to the project. However, the same report quotes him as saying: "...we as an administration, we contribute $50 thousand US Dollars to this road construction project." The article does not reconcile the personal and administrative framings of the $50,000.
Project context at the time
The report said the Galkaio-Hobyo road project is driven by local people and the Diaspora community. Its purpose, according to Goobjoog News, is to rehabilitate the road linking Galkaio and Hobyo to enable trade and transport movement between the two towns. Hobyo natural port had reopened some months back, but the report stated it was not yet fully operational, as traders still used Mogadishu and Bosaso ports.
What the report does not establish
The Goobjoog News article does not say when the contribution was made or handed over, to whom, or through what mechanism. It does not provide a total project cost, contract value, budget, funding target, or target road length. It does not name any contractor, consultant, or implementing entity. It does not state a start or completion date for the road works. The report mentions that the community had repaired and matted rock-strewn ground for 2km from Hobyo town, but gives no date for that work and does not link it to the $50,000 contribution.
The report does not establish that the $50,000 was paid, received, spent, or applied to the road. It does not provide any information about what happened to the project or the contribution after 21 July 2015. The current status of the road and Hobyo port is not addressed by this source.
Frequently asked questions
What is the total cost of the road?
The Goobjoog News report does not state a total project cost or budget.
What other funding sources exist?
The report says the project is driven by local people and the Diaspora community, but does not quantify their contributions.
What is the project timeline?
The report does not provide a start or completion date for the road works.