In brief
- Wardheer News reported on 2025-01-18 that 1,000 internally displaced families in Garowe are moving into stone-built houses on 169-square-metre plots at Hoodaale.
- The report says the Hoodaale Resettlement Programme was funded by the World Bank and implemented by Garowe's local government with IOM and NRC, but it does not state a cost, contract value or contractor.
- No later occupancy figures, completion certificate or independent verification of the move-ins has emerged from the single report.
On 18 January 2025, Wardheer News reported that one thousand internally displaced families in Garowe, the capital of Puntland, were moving into permanent homes on a resettlement site, after years in makeshift camps. The article, credited to Radio Ergo, is the sole source for the details below.
The report says each family received a stone-built house with a toilet on a 169-square-metre plot in Hoodaale. It states that the housing development was opened in December, without giving a year. It names the scheme the Hoodaale Resettlement Programme, says it was funded by the World Bank and that it was implemented by Garowe's local government in partnership with the International Organisation for Migration and the Norwegian Refugee Council. None of those funding or implementation claims is confirmed by a second source in the report.
What the report does not establish matters as much as what it says. It gives no year for the December opening, no start date for construction, no completion date, no contract value, no project budget, no disbursed amount and no unit cost. No contractor, developer or consultant is named. The World Bank funding is stated without a financing amount, an agreement date or implementing-agency documentation. The report also gives no figure for how many of the 1,000 families had actually received or occupied houses by the time of writing, and no eligibility or allocation process.
What residents told the reporters
Meymun Abdi Abdullahi, 36, who had been evicted three times from Jillab IDP camp and could not pay the $5 monthly rent charged by the landowner, said she now receives free water and other services. She said clinics provide the medicine patients need and there is a police station for conflicts, and that a school has been prepared while residents wait for teachers to arrive. She runs a tailoring business at home and makes $5-7 a day. Those are her accounts, not verified service levels for all 1,000 families.
Sahro Mohamed Adan said this was the first time she had owned permanent property in Garowe after 20 years in displacement camps paying $5 rent for a shack. She said she gave birth to seven children while paying rent, sells snacks and food on the streets, and that her husband earns $5-10 a day when he gets labour jobs on construction sites.
Deqo Mohamed, who moved to Garowe in 2017 after losing 150 goats to drought, said vulnerable families with many children were prioritised. She said food shortage had been her family's biggest challenge since last July, when an $80 monthly allowance from WFP stopped. The report gives no year for that stoppage.
Official comment
Garowe's municipal secretary, Mohamud Ali Hasan, said the resettlement programme would help the families recover economically and adapt to urban living conditions, as reported by Wardheer News. The article does not say when he said it or whether any authority independently confirmed the figures.
Frequently asked questions
What is the total budget and funding source for the Garowe IDP housing project?
Wardheer News reported on 2025-01-18 that the Hoodaale Resettlement Programme was funded by the World Bank. The report does not state a budget, financing amount, agreement date or disbursed total, and the World Bank has not been cited as confirming the funding.
Who is constructing the houses and what are the designs?
The report says each family received a stone-built house with a toilet on a 169-square-metre plot in Hoodaale, and that Garowe's local government implemented the programme with IOM and NRC. No contractor, developer or consultant is named.
When is completion expected and how will beneficiaries be selected?
The report does not give a completion date or a start date. It says the development was opened in December without a year. Deqo Mohamed, a resident, said vulnerable families with many children were prioritised, but no eligibility or allocation process is documented in the report.