In brief
- On 18 December 2024, Goobjoog News reported that Justice Minister Hassan Moalim Mohamud inaugurated a newly constructed prison in Baidoa, Southwest State.
- The report names no cost, contractor, capacity, occupancy, or construction dates; the inauguration is given only as 'Tuesday'.
- The reported meetings with Somali Correctional Forces officials were scheduled, and no follow-up reporting establishes what has happened since.
On 18 December 2024, Goobjoog News reported that Somalia's Justice and Constitutional Affairs Minister, Hassan Moalim Mohamud, had inaugurated a newly constructed prison facility in Baidoa, Southwest State. Goobjoog describes the event as taking place on "Tuesday," so the publication date and the event date are not the same thing: the report does not give a calendar date for the inauguration itself.
What the report records is narrow. According to Goobjoog News, the minister, during the visit, inspected the facility's construction and operations, including the cells and overall structure. The same account says the new prison is expected to address the growing need for secure detention centres for convicted individuals and suspects awaiting trial, and that the minister was scheduled to hold separate meetings with officials and officers from the Somali Correctional Forces, who manage and secure detainees at the facility.
The visit, Goobjoog News writes, underscores the federal government's commitment to strengthening the justice sector and improving infrastructure for law enforcement and judicial processes. That is the outlet's characterisation, not an SCR assessment or a measured outcome.
What the report leaves open matters to anyone tracking public building delivery in Somalia. It does not state a construction cost, contract value, budget or funder. It names no contractor, consultant or client. It gives no capacity, cell count or occupancy figure. It gives no start or completion date for construction, and it does not establish that the facility is operational or holding detainees. The location is given only as Baidoa, Southwest State, with no district, site or facility name.
The scheduled meetings are reported as scheduled, not as held: Goobjoog News does not say whether they took place or what was discussed, and no readout from Southwest State or Somali Correctional Forces authorities is reported. No handover, staffing, occupancy or further works are reported either.
What happens next is what the record does not yet answer: whether the facility becomes operational, who runs and funds it, and what was built at what cost. Until that appears in a document or a statement from the authorities involved, the Goobjoog News report stands as an inauguration account, not a completion record.
Frequently asked questions
What is the capacity and design of the Baidoa prison facility?
Not stated. Goobjoog News reported that the prison was inaugurated and that the minister inspected the cells and overall structure, but the report gives no capacity, cell count, occupancy or design detail.
Who funded and constructed the prison?
Not stated. Goobjoog News names no funder, contractor, consultant or client, and reports no construction cost, contract value or budget.
When did construction start or finish, and is the facility operating?
Not established. The report says only that the inauguration took place on "Tuesday" and gives no construction dates. It does not say the prison is operational or holding detainees.
Sources
Local reporting: this article is written for building work in Baidoa. Ground conditions, prices and rules differ between places; confirm the details for your own site.