In brief
- On 29 October 2024, Goobjoog News reported that Prime Minister Hamza Abdi Barre inaugurated an Emergency and Trauma Center at Madiina Hospital in Mogadishu.
- Goobjoog News described the facility as "the country's largest," with capacity to treat up to 200 patients; the report does not give a time unit for that figure.
- The report does not establish what has happened since: operational status, patient numbers, staffing and construction timeline are not given.
On 29 October 2024, Goobjoog News reported that Federal Government of Somalia Prime Minister Hamza Abdi Barre inaugurated an Emergency and Trauma Center at Madiina Hospital in Mogadishu. The report described the facility as the country's largest Emergency and Trauma Center, with capacity to treat up to 200 patients, dedicated to critical care for patients suffering from various ailments. The description is Goobjoog News's; the report does not give a time unit for the capacity figure, and offers no floor area or comparison with other facilities.
According to the same report, the facility arrived exactly two years after the Soobe II car bombings of October 29, 2022, which the report says claimed over 100 lives and injured 300 others. Goobjoog News characterised the center as a major milestone in Somalia's healthcare response system.
The project was funded through a national initiative led by the National Emergency Committee, according to Goobjoog News, which described the committee as including federal ministries, the Somali Disaster Management Agency (SoDMA) and local civil society organizations.
Goobjoog News also reported that the inauguration ceremony was attended by top government officials and families of Soobe II victims. No attendees, committee members or officials beyond the Prime Minister are named in the report.
What the report does not establish
The report does not establish what has happened since the inauguration. It does not state whether the center is operational or receiving patients, staffing levels, equipment, opening hours or utilization, and it gives no patient numbers. It does not give a construction start date, duration or completion date, and it names no contractor, consultant or supplier.
No project cost is given: the report does not state a budget, contract value, total project cost or expenditure, and it names no donor or financier. There is also no sourcing attributed for the Soobe II casualty figures, which are as reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the capacity of the Madiina Hospital emergency center?
Goobjoog News reported the facility has capacity to treat up to 200 patients. The report does not give a time unit, so per-day or per-month throughput is not established.
Who funded and built the center?
Goobjoog News reported the project was funded through a national initiative led by the National Emergency Committee, which it described as including federal ministries, the Somali Disaster Management Agency (SoDMA) and local civil society organizations. The report names no donor, no contract value and no contractor, consultant or supplier.
Is the center operational?
The report does not establish what has happened since the reported 29 October 2024 inauguration. It does not state whether the center is operational, patient numbers, staffing or opening hours.