In brief
- Goobjoog News reported on 2025-11-20 that Somalia's cabinet approved a national ports strategy meant to modernise maritime infrastructure.
- The report does not specify which ports are targeted, how the strategy will be funded, or when implementation will begin.
- The same cabinet meeting also approved a bill banning female genital mutilation and several other measures.
On 20 November 2025, Goobjoog News reported that Somalia's Cabinet approved a national ports strategy meant to modernise maritime infrastructure. The decision came during a weekly Council of Ministers meeting chaired by Prime Minister Hamza Abdi Barre, according to the report.
The report does not state which ports are covered by the strategy, how it will be funded, or what specific infrastructure projects it envisions. It also does not establish that any port construction, upgrade, or investment has resulted from the approval. No contract awards, construction tenders, or funding commitments are mentioned.
The same cabinet meeting also approved a bill banning female genital mutilation, a cooperation agreement with Rwanda, and Somalia's accession to the International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO) Convention, Goobjoog News reported. None of these approvals are described as having been signed, ratified, or implemented; the report records only the cabinet's endorsement.
Ministers were also briefed on the national security situation and outcomes of the recent Somali Judiciary Conference, according to the report. The report does not give details of those briefings.
The report attributed to SoDMA head Mahamuud Moallim Abdulle an estimate that about 4.4 million people now require humanitarian assistance. Prime Minister Barre instructed government agencies to speed up emergency operations and ensure aid reaches the hardest-hit areas, Goobjoog News reported. The report does not state that these instructions have been carried out or that aid has reached affected areas.
Goobjoog News is the sole source for these reported decisions. The report does not provide independent confirmation or documentary evidence for the cabinet approvals.