In brief
- Goobjoog News reported on 24 November 2025 that the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources provided free electricity to 335 public facilities, including health centres, schools and universities, citing the ministry.
- Energy Minister Abdullahi Bidhaan Warsame toured education institutions in Mogadishu, according to the same report.
- The report does not establish whether the facilities are fully connected or energised, the funding amount, the partners involved, or the programme's current operating status.
On 24 November 2025, Goobjoog News reported that Somalia's Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, working with unnamed international development partners, had provided free electricity to 335 public facilities across the country, including health centres, schools and universities. The claim is attributed to the ministry, not independently verified by SCR or the Ministry of Communications and Technology.
According to the same report, Energy Minister Abdullahi Bidhaan Warsame toured several education institutions benefiting from the programme, including Somali National University, the Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education, and several schools in Mogadishu. The report does not give the date of that tour.
Ministry officials, via Goobjoog News, said the initiative is designed to strengthen essential public services through reliable and affordable power supply, particularly in the health and education sectors, which they said continue to face high operating costs and infrastructure gaps.
The report does not state the international development partners involved, the funding amount or budget of the programme, or the facility-type breakdown across health centres, schools and universities. It does not establish whether the 335 facilities are fully connected and energised or only counted. It does not provide a regional distribution beyond the Mogadishu sites named, and it places the programme across the country without state-level detail.
Minister Warsame is the only official named in the report, which attributes design intent and sector-cost statements to unnamed ministry officials.
As of the report's filing date, the status of the listed facilities has not been independently confirmed. The report does not establish whether the programme began, whether it is complete, or whether it has continued beyond the announcement. It does not say what has happened since 24 November 2025.
Frequently asked questions
Which institutions are included in the reported free power programme?
Goobjoog News reported on 24 November 2025 that the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources provided free electricity to 335 public facilities, including health centres, schools and universities. The report does not give a facility-type breakdown.
What is the funding amount for the programme?
The report does not state a funding amount, contract value or budget. It also does not name the international development partners involved.
What is the expected demand increase from the free power initiative?
No figure or estimate for an expected demand increase appears in the Goobjoog News report of 24 November 2025.
Sources
Photo: European Space Agency, CC BY-SA 3.0 igo, via Wikimedia Commons
