In brief
- Somaliland Chronicle reported on 15 January 2021 that Vice President Abdirahman Abdilahi Ismail Saylici inaugurated development projects in Somaliland.
- The projects, including a 7MW solar power plant and healthcare facilities, were funded by the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development and The Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Foundation.
- The report does not establish whether the solar plant is operational or has delivered 7MW since the inauguration, nor does it name specific healthcare facilities or state total project cost.
On 15 January 2021, Somaliland Chronicle reported that the Vice President of the Republic of Somaliland, H.E. Abdirahman Abdilahi Ismail Saylici, inaugurated development projects in Somaliland. The report stated that these projects were funded by the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development and The Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Foundation.
According to the Chronicle, the inaugurated projects included a 7MW solar power plant and state-of-the-art healthcare facilities. The report did not name the specific healthcare facilities or provide a total project cost.
The Chronicle's report does not establish what has happened since the inauguration. It does not show whether the solar plant is operational, whether it has delivered 7MW of power, or whether the healthcare facilities are open and serving patients. No information is provided on maintenance, expansion, or any impact the projects may have had.
SCR has not independently verified the current status of these projects. The absence of subsequent reporting or documentation means the operational performance, actual output, and service delivery remain unconfirmed. Future announcements, inspection reports, or utility data would be needed to determine whether the solar plant is generating electricity at the stated capacity and whether the healthcare facilities are functioning as intended.
At the time of the 2021 report, the inauguration was a single-day event. Somali Construction Review maintains no file indicating that the solar plant has since been commissioned, tested, or connected to a grid. Without utility records, site inspections, or operator statements, the plant's capacity factor, uptime, and contribution to Somaliland's electricity supply cannot be stated.
The healthcare component carries the same uncertainty. The Chronicle described the facilities as state of the art but did not list them by name, location, or bed count. No later Ministry of Health reports, donor statements, or construction updates are available in the public record. Thus, the degree to which these facilities have entered service remains unknown.
The funding arrangement described by the Chronicle involved two UAE entities, but the report did not itemise how much each contributed or the total sum spent. The contract value, project budget, and any debt or grant terms are not stated. This leaves a significant gap in the public understanding of the deal's financial scale.
Somaliland's energy sector has seen several donor-funded solar initiatives, but none have been formally linked to this project. The healthcare facilities, if opened, would add to the region's limited hospital stock. Until further evidence emerges, the 2021 report should be read as a record of an announcement, not a verification of long-term outcomes.
Frequently asked questions
Where are these facilities located?
The Somaliland Chronicle report does not specify exact locations for the solar plant or healthcare facilities beyond stating they were inaugurated in Somaliland.
What is the capacity and cost of the solar plant?
The solar plant has a reported capacity of 7MW, but the report does not state the cost of the solar plant or the total funding amount from the UAE entities.
Are the facilities operational or still under construction?
The report describes an inauguration, which suggests completion at that time, but does not provide evidence of operational status since 15 January 2021.
Sources
Photo: European Space Agency, CC BY-SA 3.0 igo, via Wikimedia Commons
